Before the ‘Follow’ button was introduced on Facebook, there was only one way to deal with annoying Facebook friends who keep posting annoying political rants or their relationship misfortunes.
The only way to stop these people from crowding your timeline with posts you don’t want to see was to unfriend them. When it’s serious, block them!
Unfriending someone is a bit of a drastic measure if you want to maintain your friendship with these people. You don’t want to be awkward when you run into each other at the club.
The ‘Follow’ button is a lifesaver! When you Unfollow someone, you will not see their Facebook activity on your Timeline although you will remain friends. You are currently following all your friends by default.
How To Unfollow Someone On Facebook:
To Unfollow someone, sign in to your account and go to the profile of the person you want to Unfollow. Click on the button that says ‘Following’ to unfollow that user. When you stop following that user, the button should read ‘Follow’.
When you Un-follow someone, you will remain friends but you will not see their posts and other other activity in your timeline. Users are not notified by Facebook that they have been un-followed so your friend will not know that you have un-followed him/her.
You can follow someone again at a later date if you wish to start seeing their Facebook activity in your timeline.Here’s a video on how to unfollow on Facebook.