I believe there is enough reason for you to want to deactivate or completely delete your Facebook account. If you decide that you no longer want your Facebook account, you can deactivate it easily from right within your account.
Facebook, unlike its main rival, Twitter, has completely detached the processes of deactivating and deleting your account.
This means that you can choose to either deactivate or completely delete. Both do the same thing, which is making your entire Facebook profile disappear from the internet. However Deleting is permanent. When you deactivate, your posts on friends’ walls remain but your name will be un-clickable.
Before Deactivating Your Facebook Account
- You have to sign in to your Facebook account before deactivating it. If you cant remember your password, you have to reset it first and access the Facebook account.
- Your Facebook account will stay deactivated for as long as you want. While your entire profile and all its data disappears from Facebook, and the internet, your data and information will still be saved on Facebook.
- Facebook will not delete any of your data unless you request for deletion. You can reactivate your account at any time by simply logging in the same way you always have.
- If you are the sole admin of any of the Facebook pages in your Facebook account, they will be deactivated as well. If you want the one or more of the pages to continue running as usual while your account is deactivated, then you need to assign Admin access to the page(s) to another user or profile.
How To Deactivate Facebook Account
Sign in To Your Facebook account.
Click the account menu at the top right of Facebook.
Click Security in the left column
Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm.
Through the deactivation steps, you will be reminded of any pages you should transfer admin access for or else they will be deactivated together with your profile.
Check the ‘Email Opt Out’ option if you do not want to continue receiving email notifications while your account is deactivated. Remember, while your account is deactivated, other users can still send you messages and tag you in posts but you will only see these when you reactivate your account.
If you are absolutely sure you will never need your Facebook account and all the data and photos in it, you can Delete your Facebook account. This will completely delete your profile from the Facebook servers and you can never recover anything from it.
You can also deactivate your account on your iPhone through Facebook apps.
Watch: How To Deactivate Facebook